Content Creator control/ownership of Clips
Recently I lost at a minimum 58 clips from my channel due to the person who created them no longer being part of my community. This included my most popular clip of all time and many other amazing funny moments.
The reason I am mentioning that is to add context for the biggest flaw in the clip creation system. There is no way to recover these at all so these memories are just gone forever.
My susgestion is to change how this works. Take away people's ability to delete clips that they created for another channel either all together or after X time they cannot delete the clip. Nobody should have power or control over the creators content which this gives. This person had full control over my clips they created for me and therefore my content. I should not have to download every clip of mine just to keep them safe, they should be safe on Twitch. The content creator should have full ownership of any clips made of their channel.
When a viewer or user deletes clips made of a channel, the streamer should still be able to access the clips made of their channel.
Firstly, the content belongs to the streamer who made it. Simply because someone made it into a compact form does not mean the content was not the streamer's.
Secondly, if someone is being exploitative with clips of other people's channels, they should not be allowed to destroy all evidence of their wrongdoing. If a streamer would like to pursue legal action against someone based on a clip, viewers should not be allowed to strip streamers of access to their own content and potential evidence needed in a legal battle. Moreover, if the user who made the clip is the defendant in a legal case, even if the streamer were to download the clip, the information about the creator of the clip is not there and any evidence provided by the clip would be futile.
Having access to all clips made of one's channel, regardless of the library of others, is very important. Thank you for considering.
Also, letting the streamers edit the names of clips would be great
- clips deleted by anyone go into a trash can and unpublished, remain accessible to broadcaster/editors to recover
automatically deleted after certain amount of time
-broadcaster and editor role ability to edit title of a clip and keep the original clipper's name
- broadcaster ability to take ownership of published or deleted clips
Either a 24-hour max deletion limit...
Or give streamers the ability to change the 'ownership' of the clip itself, and claim it as their own.
Due to privacy laws around the world, someone would still have to have a way to "disconnect" themselves/their name from any clips they've created, if they so choose.
So Twitch would have to implement a way for users to be able to anonymize their created clips.
I had banned a member of my community and then lost the majority of my clips due to similar circumstances
Please make it possible to block a delete of clips from own channel.
It's a pitty when you see that an ex moderator or normal user has deleted all his/her clips from your channel.
It's much more frustrated when this clips are so old that you aren't able to remake them because there are no vods of this old streams.
It woud be so great if you can implement a feature where all clips are deletable only for channel owner.
Great would be also a new permission for users/mods which could make it possible to delete clips at the channel.
Please do something! It's the second time this year where I lose so many cool memories. Ans I know I'm not the only one.
Right now the clipper can delete an old clip leaving the broadcaster without the clip of an important moment in their broadcast .(Most important to small- medium size streamers since there will probably be only 1 person who clipped the moment)
What I would suggest is allowing streamers(and/or mods) to...
have a check-mark in the settings that would automatically save the clips that are deleted after the broadcast is deleted and would just dissociate the clip from the clipper instead of deleting it.
mark clips as "important" meaning that if the clipper decides to "delete" the clip only the connection mentioning of who clipped it would be deleted and not the clip itself.