Make naming clips a requirement
Currently, unnamed clips default to the stream title making lots of clips the same exact title. These clips remain unwatched most of the time, and are usually painstakingly removed by hand by the streamer.
Making it required to give the clip a name before it is saved would cut back on junk clips.
This has been implemented! In some cases you may find a default title created, but you can update that once the Clip is published. Closing this issue - thank you!
-
SkippRnim
commented
for someone that clips a lot, there are often times on mobile that you don't have time to come up with a name for the clip and come back later after the stream to rename it because you want to get back to the stream as soon as possible.
What would be good is that clips can be held in some sort of editing stage so that a user can come back later and finish setting the in/out points of the clip and title it. I've lost so many good clips because I wasn't able to come back to the clip in time to name it and publish it.
-
willi063
commented
Es werden immer gerne Clips von den Zuschauern erstellt, doch nur selten werden diesen Clips auch eigene Titel gegeben. So hat man sehr oft nach einem Live-Stream sehr viele Clips die alle den gleichen Titel haben, weil dann ja der Titel des Streams übernommen wird. Viele gute Clips gehen dadurch einfach unter, weil man nicht ersehen kann worum es geht.
-
Sprunghans
commented
It's not just that you should have to name clips, but also requiring to actually click the existing "publish" button rather than posting in the users name without their consent. I mean that's what the UI suggests and how people think how it works. Someone checking their clip directory at the creator dashboard after a few years of happy clipping, might be surprised how many clips had actually been uploaded without their consent, by accidentally pressing ALT+X, clicking the "clip-button" or opening the clip window just to review a scene later and decide if it's clip material but later decide it's not worth publishing. The majority of those users don't know that the clip had already been unknowingly and most importantly WITHOUT CONSENT, published the moment, they had entered the clipping screen/tab/window.
l
If I press ALT+X or click the button by accident or on purpose - maybe to review a scene later and only maybe decide it's clip material, I don't want clips posted using my username, when I did not explicitly agreed to it being published, hence the "publish" button.Just imagine the time frame of those clips could not just include something worth clipping but also something that would be awkward to be shared as clip.
By automatically posting clips without the user confirming you'll publish in our name, things we never intended to clip and might not give us the chance to delete them before they've been seen.
Therefore, either publish them after us pressing the "publish" button only and dismiss them if the window/tab closes, or save but don't publish them in our clip directory for X days and allow us to edit and publish them during those time frame before they would get deleted.
As it is now it's neither user friendly for streamers, having cluttered clip sections nor viewers, that get things unwillingly published in their name (not even sure if that's actually legal), as well as the same problem streamer face.
I hope it will be changed ASAP!
Cheers
PS: there are various reports in this forum about the issue where vote function has simply been deactivated.