Give "Delete all of your Clips with one click" a safety device to prevent accidental touch
On July 24th, the development team added "Delete all of your Clips with one click" to the Clip Manager. I accidentally clicked the button when I deleted ONE Clips without knowing it on July 26th, so the clips I had clipped down for 3 years were just If it is destroyed in this way, there is no way to cancel the deletion process even if it is found to be wrong.
I hope "Delete all of your Clips with one click" can be used as an insurance mechanism. For example, after pressing delete, all Clips will be deleted after 1 hour, and the deletion can still be cancelled during this period.
I just lost 6 years worth of clips and it hurts.....
As a person who accidentally did this recently with clips, I kinda wish this was there or just a recovery system. Most of the older clips I had by accidentally mass deleting clips and it instantly just deleting without a time span of when it is going to be deleted hurts.
Hopefully: either a time span of deleting clips so you can reconsider is an option or just have a recovery system.
Or another idea would be able to look into the “trashed” clips and recover them similar to an iPhone deleting photos kind of idea and if you don’t do anything in a certain amount of days then it is fully deleted.
This is a great idea!
Additionally, it would be neat for it to be possible to protect (multiple checked) clips and/or videos from being deleted in this way, requiring them to first have protection removed before deletion.
An idea which Linus of Linus Tech Tips had is to limit destructive options by requiring the user to confirm mass deletion with 2FA. "Are you sure about this? Are you really you?"
I also like the idea of an opt-in two-person confirmation for mass deletion so that if the channel owner or an editor has their account hacked, someone can block deletions until such time that control of the account is regained.
As we've seen, 2FA doesn't always keep malicious actors from doing damage, session tokens can be stolen. Being able to restore deleted content in a situation like that makes a lot of sense.
Fix it! Should have a safety option for sure before making any final decisions
I also would like to have a backup for my videos. Now I'm busy with work project https://www.worktime.com/employee-monitoring and this function is very important for me.
THIS!!! I've been clipping for only around 2 years but I have over 4k clips and to lose them would be the worst thing I could ever do. I've always been extra weary when it comes to deleting clips because of this fear but knowing that there could be a backup would ease up my worries so much. It's been 2 years since this idea was posted please do implement it!!
I agree with this suggestion. I'm one of those people who accidentally deleted a large number of clips all together.
I don't understand why the button that deletes all clips with one click is right next to the select and delete button.
With such a placement, it is easy to imagine how a small mistake can cause an unfortunate accident.
If the accident happened in a UI that was designed to prevent the accident of deleting everything, then it is unavoidable.
However, the current placement of the delete all button seems to have been designed to induce mistakes.
Clips are not made just for you. It is also an invaluable record of other streamers.
As stated in the theme idea text, if you accidentally press the delete all button, you should be able to cancel the deletion within a certain period of time, or place the delete all button in a remote location so that people don't accidentally touch it.
I deleted it all by mistake earlier.
I'm very sad that over two years of memories are all gone with just two clicks of a mistake.
Why did you add this feature?
KU_KU_O is the best moderator and he was devastated after accidentally deleting all the clips. This proposal is just such a bliss for people like him since he spent all his precious time to clip all the valuable memories streamers and viewers have.
Please do consider this feature since we have our lives online and only in this platform we share the joy together.
I agree with this idea proposal of KU_KU_O.
Perhaps even change the color of this new button as well to highlight it as a eye catching flagged/warning color.
I had a case less than a week ago similar to miyairigai in which I confused the "deleted selected clip(s)" to apparently "Delete ALL clips" button which I was selected, much less knowing of its existence right there.
I didn't even know the Delete All Clips button was even there at the time, and I thought I read it correctly. I was just trying to delete 3 clips that were nonsense clips from my library and that happened.
I contacted Twitch support and got a response back of:
Thank you so much for reaching out. We completely understand the frustration with deleted clips.
Unfortunately, Twitch Support is unable to restore deleted clips due to a limited storage structure. Once a clip has been deleted, it is removed from our systems. There may be third-party services that store previous clips, but we are unable to provide insight/support for those services.
That was pretty frustrating when the communities I am a part of love the clips I make for them. I'm trying to reclip what I can before the original VODs are gone (2 months history). It's a chore to say the least both finding the original VODs dates and time stamps within the stream VODs.
I agree with you here.
I'm one of those who has experienced a large number of clips being deleted in an instant.
I'm convinced that "Delete all of your Clips with one click" will appear when you check the all select button on the top left.
But I'm not convinced that the delete all button appears when I check one clip.
If we want to delete all clips, just use the button to select all clips.
A single mistake can wipe out all the important memories and you can't even cancel them in the middle.
I think it's dangerous that such a button, which is so damaging to the user, is placed in such an easily clickable place.
I'd like to see improvements.
I strong agree the proposal.
I accidentally erased my all clip videos. so I miss-chosen buttons between that delete a clip or all clips on my dashboard.
I lost over 800 clips. Those are many irreplaceable records for a community I belong to.
I asked to Twitch Support but they couldn't restore those.
They say "Twitch Support is unable to restore deleted clips due to a limited storage structure. "
I felt thanks for their polite answer about data-keeping on the service, but I am mortified at the result.
I wish the case will be the last case of the mistake deletion of someone's treasured clips.
Let me suggest a little modification for the creator dashboard UI.
Those buttons ( [Delete Selected] and [Delete All Clips] ) are so close.
Probably this is the reason I made the wrong button press.
I suggest moving the [Delete All Clips] button to the opposite.
This is my only hope.