Make Export to YouTube Private by Default
Before there was an overhaul to Highlights with the new added time limit exporting to YouTube would automatically have the uploads be private. As someone who curates my highlight channel with descriptions and thumbnails, this is important to me so I can make sure I'm uploading at the right time (and I cannot rely on simply exporting them and trusting them to process at the right time, because it varies drastically depending on the VOD's length.) It's also important to make sure I handle any false Content IDs, which have become more common, so I can monetize my VODs.
However, there was clearly a change that made the export option by default public. I discovered this unfortunately after my VOD channel had two of the same VOD uploaded in the middle of the night while I was sleeping. They were up for hours with no monetization, no thumbnail, no description, and no normal title. I am aware there is an option to click so it is private, but being private has always been the default. It almost feels like a deceptive pattern, where there's an extra step involved in something that was changed which has always been easy and adding that extra click is both unnecessary and feels detrimental to people who care about curating their VOD channels.
Please return the default export option to "Private" like it has always been.
-
smurfberribbq
commented
Agreed. Private should be the default.
-
sarek_vulcan
commented
I agree it is a step backwards. But then again what we see the last months twitch is going backwards. If you as Twitch don't want to set the default to private (and like hackerling said ***** over streamers) then let the streamer have the ability to set the option in their channel settings. This way every streamer can choose the option that works for them. Some want exports directly to go live, fine adjust the setting in the channel setting, and if you want to set it to private you can choose that.
It is not rocket science it it should be thought of by Twitch before they made the change to set the default to public.