Stop deleting all messages for Time-outs
I think deleting all the messages when a person is timed-out can be really confusing to people watching a VOD chat scroll by and people are replying to stuff they can't see. Sometimes a person gets time-out because they are backseating but the streamer doesn't want to ban them because they weren't constantly backseating and only did it once becausethey were worried a streamer might miss something. It's not the same as people posting annoying spam or begging to join a co-op game.
Not every streamer has chat displayed in their videos for people to get the full context either. If a user is being discriminated against by a mod for some reason, then the loss of context can also make it harder to bring the issue with a particular mod to the attention of a streamer.
I'm not saying mods should be unable to delete all messages but it should be independent of the time-out feature.
-
Skylarka
commented
I like this idea. I think in the moderation or safety settings streamers should be able to choose if they want the default behavior on a timeout to delete all a users messages or not. Alternately Twitch could add an option to timeout without purging messages while keeping a separate option to timeout and purge.