Stream Clipping Cancel Feature
Bug, possibly with stream clipping.
if you press the clip button in the lower right portion of the stream player, you are presented with eth clip interface. Begin to create the clip as you normally would, adjusting the timeline to highlight the important part of the stream, but do not name, or publish the clip.
This clip still remains viewable (by the streamer, and person that made it only) - and it is only available to the streamer through the stream summary, it does not appear in the Content > Clips section of the Creator Dashboard. The Clip name is the same as the stream title.
I'm not sure if this is problematic or not, but it seems like there may be countless abandoned clips living on servers inaccessible to most people. Isolating, and removing this erroneous data may improve the storage of the back end of Twitch Systems.
Consider adding a button to cancel clip creation, or add JavaScript to cancel clip creation when the user navigates away from the page, or closes it.
-
OxbowPuccino
commented
Twitch recently (July 24, 2024) updated its clip creation interface, and brings the following feature.
However, I can confirm that it doesn't work.
https://help.twitch.tv/s/article/how-to-use-clips?language=en_US#clipupdates
Intentional Clip Publishing
Lastly, we've fixed a long-standing issue where clicking the Clip icon on a live channel page results in a Clip being immediately saved and published. This once created a large number of unintentionally created Clips. To ensure clips created are intentional, a viewer will now need to Publish and give the Clip a title before it actually saves and publishes. This will help remove those accidental clips, leaving only intentional clips so it's easier for streamers to find quality clips to share.