My experience with the "New to you" discovery message from Twitch
This isn't an idea, just my user experience with what I assume is a recently released feature.
I received a new message from Twitch in my Notification box. It said: "New to you: discover snowbikemike, a streamer we think you'll love." I've never seen this type of notification before, so I clicked through to his channel, but he wasn't live. I went to his most recent videos to see when he last streamed. I thought I might see that he'd been live 18 hours ago when the notification was sent, but no. His most recent live stream was more than a year ago, and the next most recent was 3 years ago. He still has a partner check, so I doubt his recent vods are expiring or hidden. I don't feel at all compelled to follow this guy who's no longer active on the platform, let alone check back later. What I did instead was head to my settings and turn the recommendations off.
I'm certain this wasn't the intended outcome when the feature was implemented, but I hope this helps you make it better.
And for the community, since this isn't an idea per-say, give this a vote if you had a similar experience, I guess. 🤷♀️