We are happy to announce that we have released an update that addresses some of these points.
Channel Banned users will no longer be able to view the chat, and they will also be removed from your Chat list. There is an issue that has caused us to pause this temporarily, but we expect a fix to be out very soon – stay tuned to the Twitter thread below for the update.
Additionally, if you Block a user, they will not be able to subscribe or follow, and Blocking them will automatically unfollow them.https://twitter.com/TwitchSupport/status/1243643979897417730?s=20
I will leave this topic open for your points about being unable to fully view the remaining content of a channel, and account creation.
An error occurred while saving the commentRainbowLacesMusic commented
The proposed solution does not address the OPs issue -> banned users should not be able to view your channel at all. Having potentially abusive individuals lurking and watching me (or really, me feeling that it might be possible for them to do so) is enough to make me not want to stream at all. It's anxiety inducing and destructive. A ban needs to be a ban.
I think that in order to facilitate this, as channel owners perhaps we would need an option to only allow registered users to view the channel.